Well done Gwynfryn

Congratulations to Gwynfryn Jones who achieved Colin Harrison’s selectors award in the recent WPF Christmas Competition. Below you can read the event report from Peter Young.

This competition was the concept of Ed Cloutman and was held on 9 January 2021 by Zoom with over 90 people having booked to watch the proceedings. 117 club members had entered 1 photograph each, being the best they had made or, in some cases, their favourite.

The judges, Colin Harrison FRPS MPAGB FBPE EFIAP/d3, Paul Keene FRPS MPAGB EFIAP/d3 MFIAP and Roger Parry ARPS MPAGB HonPAGB EFIAP EsFIAP did a super job of scoring each photograph from 2 to 5.  They then selected 5 awards from the 18 that had scored the maximum of 15.  The results are shown on the scoresheet here.

Congratulations go to:

First Place  – Cuckoo Robin Confrontation by Charlie Kidd DPAGB EFIAP BPE1, Tenby Camera Club

Second  Place – The Orphanage by Dave Bolton, Tenby CC

Colin Harrison’s Award – Not a Good day for Umbrellas by Gwynfryn Jones EFIAP DPAGB, Gwynfa CC

Roger Parry’s Award – Love is .. by Gill Perkins, Hay Camera Club

Paul Keene’s Award – Coyote on Thin Ice by Linda Cowen, Neath & DPS

As well as the three judges, our thanks go to Ed Cloutman EFIAP HonFWPF for conceiving the idea, Del Jones, Sue Surridge and John Surridge who were the Zoom team and Roy Thomas APAGB HonFWPF who mirrored the scoring in case of connection problems.

After the competition ended, several people expressed, either verbally or by email, their appreciation of our efforts.


WPF President